For enquiry, please contact the
Library - Research Support Team
phone_enabled Tel: 2616-8553
mail Email: scholars@LN.edu.hk
Data sharing is increasingly required by funding bodies and publishers as a funding, or publishing requirement. Here are the data sharing policies from some major funders and publishers:
Grant Holders in all areas must make any significant electronic resources or datasets created as a result of research funded by the Council available in an accessible and appropriate depository for at least three years after the end of their grant. The choice of depository should be appropriate to the nature of the project and accessible to the targeted audiences for the material produced.
BBSRC expects research data generated as a result of BBSRC support to be made available with as few restrictions as possible in a timely and responsible manner to the scientific community for subsequent research. Applicants should make use of existing standards for data collection and management and make data available through existing community resources or databases where possible. In line with the BBSRC Statement on Safeguarding Good Scientific Practice, data should also be retained for a period of ten years after completion of a research project.
EPSRC-funded research data is a public good produced in the public interest and should be made freely and openly available with as few restrictions as possible in a timely and responsible manner.
Publicly-funded research data are a public good, produced in the public interest, which shall be made openly available and accessible with as few restrictions as possible in a timely and responsible manner that meets a high ethical standard and does not violate privacy or harm intellectual property.
The environmental data produced by the activities funded by NERC are considered a public good and they will be made openly available for others to use. NERC-funded scientists must make their data openly available within two years of collection and deposit it in a NERC data centre for long term preservation.
Starting with the October 1, 2003 receipt date, investigators submitting an NIH application seeking $500,000 or more in direct costs in any single year are expected to include a plan for data sharing or state why data sharing is not possible. The NIH expects and supports the timely release and sharing of final research data from NIH-supported studies for use by other researchers, no later than the acceptance for publication of the main findings from the final data set.
Investigators are expected to share with other researchers, at no more than incremental cost and within a reasonable time, the primary data, samples, physical collections and other supporting materials created or gathered in the course of work under NSF grants. Grantees are expected to encourage and facilitate such sharing. See Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) Chapter XI.D.4.
Data resulting from publicly funded research should be made publicly available after a limited period, unless there are specific reasons (e.g. legislation, ethical, privacy and security) why this should not happen. The length of any proprietary period should be specified in the data management plan and justified, for example, by the reasonable needs of the research team to have a first opportunity to exploit the results of their research, including any IP arising. Where there are accepted norms within a scientific field or for a specific archive (e.g. the one year norm of ESO) they should generally be followed.
You can also make use of below tools to find a particular funder's data sharing policy:
|
|
Open Policy Finder is a searchable database by JISC that lists journal publisher copyright and self-archiving policies, as well as funder OA and open data archiving policies. |
|
|
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) provides a community resource for tracking, comparing, and understanding current U.S. federal funder research data sharing policies. |
You can also make use of below tools to find a particular publisher's or journal's data policy:
|
|
The Journal open-data policies by Open Access Directory is a list of journals with policies encouraging or requiring authors to provide open data for their published articles. |
|
|
The Publisher Data Availability Policies Index by CHORUS is a centralized index of publishers’ data availability policies with links to the publisher’s site. This chart will be updated at least annually. |
Grant Holders in all areas must make any significant electronic resources or datasets created as a result of research funded by the Council available in an accessible and appropriate depository for at least three years after the end of their grant. The choice of depository should be appropriate to the nature of the project and accessible to the targeted audiences for the material produced.
BBSRC expects research data generated as a result of BBSRC support to be made available with as few restrictions as possible in a timely and responsible manner to the scientific community for subsequent research. Applicants should make use of existing standards for data collection and management and make data available through existing community resources or databases where possible. In line with the BBSRC Statement on Safeguarding Good Scientific Practice, data should also be retained for a period of ten years after completion of a research project.
EPSRC-funded research data is a public good produced in the public interest and should be made freely and openly available with as few restrictions as possible in a timely and responsible manner.
Publicly-funded research data are a public good, produced in the public interest, which shall be made openly available and accessible with as few restrictions as possible in a timely and responsible manner that meets a high ethical standard and does not violate privacy or harm intellectual property.
The environmental data produced by the activities funded by NERC are considered a public good and they will be made openly available for others to use. NERC-funded scientists must make their data openly available within two years of collection and deposit it in a NERC data centre for long term preservation.
Starting with the October 1, 2003 receipt date, investigators submitting an NIH application seeking $500,000 or more in direct costs in any single year are expected to include a plan for data sharing or state why data sharing is not possible. The NIH expects and supports the timely release and sharing of final research data from NIH-supported studies for use by other researchers, no later than the acceptance for publication of the main findings from the final data set.
Investigators are expected to share with other researchers, at no more than incremental cost and within a reasonable time, the primary data, samples, physical collections and other supporting materials created or gathered in the course of work under NSF grants. Grantees are expected to encourage and facilitate such sharing. See Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) Chapter XI.D.4.
Data resulting from publicly funded research should be made publicly available after a limited period, unless there are specific reasons (e.g. legislation, ethical, privacy and security) why this should not happen. The length of any proprietary period should be specified in the data management plan and justified, for example, by the reasonable needs of the research team to have a first opportunity to exploit the results of their research, including any IP arising. Where there are accepted norms within a scientific field or for a specific archive (e.g. the one year norm of ESO) they should generally be followed.
You can also make use of below tools to find a particular funder's data sharing policy:
|
Sherpa Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning open access policies from over 150 funders around the world, and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving. |
|
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) provides a community resource for tracking, comparing, and understanding current U.S. federal funder research data sharing policies. |
You can also make use of below tools to find a particular publisher's or journal's data policy:
|
The Journal open-data policies by Open Access Directory is a list of journals with policies encouraging or requiring authors to provide open data for their published articles. |
|
The Publisher Data Availability Policies Index by CHORUS is a centralized index of publishers’ data availability policies with links to the publisher’s site. This chart will be updated at least annually. |
|
© Lingnan University Fong Sum Wood Library. All Rights Reserved.
Contact Us | Copyright | Privacy Policy Statement | Personal Information Collection Statement |
