Health Data - Secondary Datasets

The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.

The Data Catalog is designed to make World Bank's development data easy to find, download, use, and share. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog. There are different ways to access and download datasets.

Open Health Data features peer-reviewed data papers describing moderated or open access health datasets with high reuse potential. It works with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and available either through moderated or open access. Equally importantly, the data and the papers are citable, and reuse is tracked.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

An open public platform and a cohort of international collaborations conducted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Population Center in conjunction with the Center for Nutrition and Health of the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention. The study aims to explore how China's socioeconomic transformation and family planning policies have affected the health and nutritional status of the country over the past 30 years.

The DHS Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries. The Program is authorized to distribute, at no cost, unrestricted survey data files for legitimate academic research. Registration is required for access to data.

The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME), the independent global health research center at the University of Washington. It is a comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.

The United Nations Statistics Division compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. Its website provides basic health data including life expectancy, infant mortality rates and child mortality rates for over 100 countries worldwide.

UNdata, from the United Nations, is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

This website provides the full-text of these reports from 1990-present. These thematic reports focus on issues ranging from health to education to globalization to human rights.

UNICEF is the world’s leading source of data on children and maintains databases of hundreds of international valid and comparable indicators. With such a wealth of information available, the Data Warehouse has been designed to allow easy access to those indicators across a range of countries, with some datasets spanning back decades.

US-focused healthcare data searchable by several different factors. Datasets are intended to improve the lives of people living in the US, but the information could be valuable for other training sets in research or other public health areas.

Re3data (Registry of Research Data Repositories) is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from many different academic disciplines.