Translation: Find Articles from Databases and E-journals

Academic Search Premier includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of over 5,500 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.

"The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers, sold as a subscription package to over 800 library subscribers. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion, and Michigan Publishing licenses them and pays royalties to contributing publishers."--Provided by publisher.

Online version of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. (No. of concurrent users = 2)

The database contains more than 70,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, giving their comparative frequencies, linguistic and historical explanations, selected associated forenames, and occasional genealogical notes.

A directory of free online scientific and scholarly journals under the Open Access concept. In 2012, over 7,000 journals are indexed and over 3000 of which can be searched at article level.

The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion.

The Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS) aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods. It is available as of September 2010 and regularly revised and expanded. It offers reference interlinking through CrossRef DOIs. Translations of articles into multiple languages are linked to the original article, bringing into practice the Handbook's core topic and honoring multilingualism. The base of translated articles is constantly growing: so far already over 400 translations in 14 languages have been added. All translations were carried out by the TS community.

In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

This examination database is a collection of electronic copies of the examination papers of Undergraduate (UG) courses. It contains past examination papers from faculties of Arts, Business and Social Sciences of Lingnan University, from 1st semester, 1998/99-Present. Some examination papers withheld at the request of subject teachers with endorsement by Board of Examiners.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. The subject coverage includes anthropological linguistics, applied linguistics, descriptive linguistics, discourse analysis, language-pathological and normal learning disabilities, nonverbal communication, phonetics, phonology and psycholinguistics.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged is the large and rich dictionary of American English. It is built on the solid foundation of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged It includes clear, authoritative definitions; quotations from both spoken and written English from Shakespeare to Lady Gaga; over 158,000 etymologies; supplementary notes with additional content; usage paragraphs offering clear guidance and suggestions for words with confused or disputed usage and browse entries by letter.

"Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present."--Provided by publisher.

This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. The text explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers. A table of European ruling houses and a table showing the dates when cities and countries changed from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar are also included.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words-past and present from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED focuses on present-day meanings but also find the history of individual words, and of the language-traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

"Over 20,000 books, including some of our latest publishing and prestigious series, are available for institutional access."--Provided by publisher.

ProQuest Ebook Central was selected by your library to provide authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers. Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters, read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. The subject coverage includes multidisciplinary.

Termsoup is developed in 2016. It is a cloud-based platform and provides an affordable, easy-to-use and elegant tool to help translators and organizations for increasing translation productivity. Now, more than 300 books are translated with Termsoup.

"Translation Studies (sometimes also called: Translation and Interpreting Studies) comprises the discipline dealing with transfer and mediation, containing aspects of intra- and interlingual translation, intercultural communication, adaptation, interpreting, localization, multimedia translation, language mediation, terminology and documentation. The database is continuously updated and now contains over 37,250 annotated records (per October 2022). The bibliography is enhanced by a thesaurus and provides CrossRef DOIs, where available, for easier interlinking. Starting from 2002, the original TSB partners were KU Leuven, the European Society for Translation Studies (EST) and John Benjamins Publishing Company. Recently the University of Tartu also joined the consortium. The partner network has been further extended with Guangxi University, where a TSB team is responsible for the structural and substantial supply of Chinese bibliographic records."--Provided by publisher.