Cultural Studies: Find Articles

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words-past and present from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED focuses on present-day meanings but also find the history of individual words, and of the language-traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

"We partner with organizations and knowledge experts from around the globe who contribute to our content, including more than a hundred Nobel laureates, Pulitzer Prize winners, historians, professors, and noted leaders from many fields of study. Many articles include an Article Contributors section, which lists those experts who have aided in article development and their notable credentials. Britannica also incorporates many types of resources, so that a single consolidated search can yield thorough research. Begin with our base of over 100,000 articles and historical Britannica Year in Review supplemental articles, plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics. Reference dictionary definitions from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate® Dictionary, journal and periodical content provided by EBSCO, hand-picked Web’s Best Sites links, and primary sources & e-books from multiple sources including the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School."--Provided by publisher.

"The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers, sold as a subscription package to over 800 library subscribers. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion, and Michigan Publishing licenses them and pays royalties to contributing publishers."--Provided by publisher.

"This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older."--Provided by publisher.

Provides access to current and retrospective (from 2000) bibliographic information and cited references in over 1,395 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.

Contains more than 747,000 citations on monographs, articles and book chapters on Asian Studies from 1971 to the present.

Access to a collection of e-journals covering the fields of arts & humanities and social sciences. About 200 titles with full text.

The English-language reference work devoted solely to the exploration of this subject. Featuring more than 600 articles by more than 500 globally recognized art historians, philosophers, and theorists, this encyclopedia provides coverage of historical accounts and critical discussions on the subject.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Further, researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counselors or Teachers. ERIC also includes an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.

"GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more."--Provided by publisher.

Over 45,000 articles on art subjects plus over 40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world.

Online version of The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts.

In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

A comprehensive collection of over 41,000 discs with more than 599,000 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Notes on the musical works as well as biographical information on composers or artists are also available in the Naxos database.

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International. The subject coverage includes film history, film theory and film criticism.

Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. The subject coverage includes culture and social structure, family and marriage, history and theory of sociology, organizational sociology, political sociology, poverty and homelessness, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, social control, sociology of health, medicine and sociology of education.

Contains an archive of full text articles from Chinese and English newspapers and magazines from Hong Kong, Mainland China, Taiwan and Macau. News sources from USA and other countries are also available.

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries is an online collection of more than 700,000 titles with emphasis on social sciences and humanities.

"大成老旧刊全文数据库"收录了清末自有期刊以来到1949年以前, 中国出版的6800多种期刊, 共13万多期, 180余万篇文章, 具有全面性和独有性, 是研究各个学科发展, 科技传承脉络的不可或缺的数据库工具. 其内容分為21类: 哲学, 社会科学总论, 政治, 法律, 军事, 经济, 文化, 科学, 教育, 体育, 语言, 文字, 文学, 艺术, 历史, 地理, 自然科学总论, 数理学科和化学, 天文学, 地球科学, 生物科学, 医药卫生, 农业科学, 工业技术, 交通运输, 航空, 航天, 环境科学, 综合性刊物.