BUS2108 Global Business Environment: Country Profiles

BBC Country Profiles provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

The full profiles include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

In addition to business and economic journals, country reports and company profiles, BSP also includes global and regional industry reports and market research reports.

This business database provides full text for more than 2,400 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Serials and non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis. It covers topics on accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.

Special Highlights

• Company Profiles
  Provides complete company profiles created by Datamonitor, a leading business information company specializing in industry analysis.

• Industry Profiles
  Different industry profiles for different countries are available for viewing.

• Country Reports
  Country reports for economics, political background, economic competitiveness, etc. are provided.

• Market Research Reports
  Includes market insight, emerging trends, etc.

Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-colour. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Library's holding of Business Source Premier (BSP):

• Online Database
  Coverage: 1965-
  Link to Business Source Premier (BSP) (Lingnan Only)

The CIA World Factbook is a publication of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) of the United States. It provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies which is a useful source for country information.

Categories covered on each country or region include:

• Introduction
• Geography
• People and Society
• Government
• Economy
• Communications
• Transportation
• Military
• Transnational issues

The online CIA World Factbook is updated periodically throughout the year.
 

Created by the International Business Centre at Michigan State University, globalEDGE is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

Special Highlights

•     Introduction
•     Statistics
•     Economy
•     History
•     Government
•     Culture
•     Risk
•     Corporations
•     Indices
•     Resources

•     Research
•     Current Topics in IB
•     Trade
•     Reference

Besides, the site also contains various globalEDGE tools and games for comparing countries on a variety of statistical indicators, rank countries based on these indicators, and test users' knowledge of country capitals from around the world.

A global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.The WTO website contains material for a range of users, from the general public to students, academics and trade specialists. It includes introductions to the WTO and a large database of official documents.The web site provides information on statistics, research, trade topics, publications and other services offered by the WTO.

Special Highlights