BUS2108 Global Business Environment: Industry Information and News

In addition to business and economic journals, country reports and company profiles, BSP also includes global and regional industry reports and market research reports.

This business database provides full text for more than 2,400 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Serials and non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis. It covers topics on accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.

Special Highlights

• Company Profiles
  Provides complete company profiles created by Datamonitor, a leading business information company specializing in industry analysis.

• Industry Profiles
  Different industry profiles for different countries are available for viewing.

• Country Reports
  Country reports for economics, political background, economic competitiveness, etc. are provided.

• Market Research Reports
  Includes market insight, emerging trends, etc.

Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-colour. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Library's holding of Business Source Premier (BSP):

• Online Database
  Coverage: 1965-
  Link to Business Source Premier (BSP) (Lingnan Only)

hktdc.com is a Hong Kong business portal developed by Hong Kong Trade Development Council providing sufficient industry information for business companies. The portal has information on sourcing, Hong Kong / worldwide trade events, market intelligence, industry news, industry focus and small business resources.

Special Highlights

Product Industries
The Product Industries of hktdc.com is especially useful in exploring news, information, features, reports, event calendar, etc. of various industries such as:

• Auto Parts & Accessories
• Baby Products
• Electronics & Electricals
• Food & Beverages
• Garment & Textiles
• Gifts & Houseware
• Health & Beauty
• Leather Goods & Footwear
• Timepieces, Jewellery & Optical Goods
• Toys & Sporting Goods

Developed Market Profiles / Emerging Market Profiles
Contains market research conducted by Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) on major countries outside China. Each report covers economic development, trade policy, statistics and trade relationship with Hong Kong.

Provides searchable access to full-text information from over 35,000 online resources as well as tens of thousands of company reports and financial data. International and local news sources from Wall Street Journals, New York Times, Financial Times, Ming Pao (1996 on), Sing Tao Daily (1995 on), Hong Kong Economic Journal (1997 on), SCMP (1986 on), The Standard (1996 on), to transcripts of TV news programmes are covered.

Special Highlights

• Search
• Track
• News Pages
• Companies/Markets

Library's holding of Factiva:

• Online Database
  Link to Factiva (Lingnan Only: No. of concurrent users = 5)

Provides searchable access to full-text information from over 5,600 sources in the areas of news, business, legal, medical and reference information. International and local news sources from New York Times, Times, Daily Yomiuri, SCMP (July 1992 on) and The Standard (June 1996 on) to transcripts of TV news programmes like 60 Minutes are covered.

Different ways for searching:

• Search
  Searched by: General, News, Legal, Business and People

• Sources
  Browsed by different sources

Library's holding of Nexis Uni:

• Online Database
  Link to Nexis Uni (Lingnan Only)